Virginia Marijuana Lawyer:
[covertplayersinglevideo trvideoid=”Pq5hdbF5Mrc” trdisplaytype=”4″ trnumbervideosdisplay=”” trvideoperpage=”36″ trthumbnailwidth=”80″ trthumbnailheight=”55″ trpopupwidth=”500″ trpopupheight=”350″ trvideoalign=”left” trytautohide=”0″ trytautoplay=”0″ trytcontrols=”0″ trytrelvideo=”0″ trytshowlogo=”1″ trytshowtitle=”0″ tryttheme=”dark” trythighquality=”0″]
Marijuana Possession in Virginia FAQ
STOP: you should make sure you bookmark our Virginia Criminal Lawyer’s
Commonwealth of Virginia Cannabis Defense Resource Page
All charges, especially those related to drugs, should be considered serious charges. Although marijuana use is becoming increasingly common as well as decriminalized in some states, Virginia is not one of them (at this time). As such, many first time offenders are surprised to learn the “seriousness” of the potential consequences: they include up to 30 days in jail, a money fine, and even a six-month suspended license.
Virginia Code § 18.2-250.1. Possession of marijuana unlawful. Section A tells us a lot about this particular law, including:
– The “state of mind” on the part of the defendant;
– The status of Medical Marijuana in Virginia;
– What, if anything, is presumed if marijuana is found in a vehicle?
– What are the penalties a defendant faces if convicted of possession of marijuana?
Read the following answers to find out Virginia’s treatment of the above legal issues.
If you were unaware that the marijuana was in your possession… (e.g., in your pockets, backpack, vehicle, etc…), you are not in violation of this statute. This is because Virginia Code § 18.2-250.1. tells us that it is unlawful to “knowingly or intentionally” possess marijuana (unless the rare exception applies).
There is seemingly a medical exception in the statute: “[It is unlawful to knowingly/intentionally possession marijuana]…unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.).
With this in mind, the Commonwealth of Virginia is not considered a “marijuana-friendly” state. While many states in the U.S. are moving toward decriminalization or broad medical marijuana exceptions, residents of Virginia and particularly visitors from more marijuana-friendly states should keep in mind the legal status if charged. A Northern Virginia Marijuana Possession Lawyer can help you understand your charges and the aspects of Virginia law necessary to completely comprehend your case and its potential ramifications for your life.
Violation of Virginia Code § 18.2-250 (Marijuana Possession Code Section) is listed as “a misdemeanor.” However, for a subsequent offense, the statute states that the offense is a “Class 1 misdemeanor.” The potential consequences, if convicted, include: jail for up to 30 days, and/or a fine of up to $500.
The Code Section (18.2-250.1 part A) reads in part, “…Upon the prosecution of a person for violation of this section, ownership or occupancy of the premises or vehicle upon or in which marijuana was found shall not create a presumption that such person either knowingly or intentionally possessed such marijuana.”
This tells us that just because the marijuana was found in your vehicle, there must be additional evidence that it belonged to you…it does not create a presumption.
It is possible. However…
Our Virginia marijuana lawyer thinks you should consider the following:
It may be possible to receive probation instead of jail time if charged with possession of marijuana under Virginia Code section 18.2-250. According to Code Section 18.2-251, a first-time offender may be placed on probation as part of the “terms and conditions” to defer further proceedings (and therefore, potentially help the defendant reach a more favorable judgment and/or consequence(s)). Drug tests may be required, among others listed in the statute.
Our Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney Suggests These Links
Why the first offender program is not a great choice for many facing a marijuana criminal charge
The main Virginia marijuana law information section: learn about the penalties, types of marijuana offenses, and some defense theories
Longer article on marijuana laws regarding first time offenders and expungement
Latest posts by Brent Vincenzes (see all)
- Fairfax Defense Attorneys: 4 charges GMU students frequently face - February 23, 2017
- New Marijuana Policy and Laws for Virginia 2017 - February 13, 2017
- How should a Fairfax reckless driving lawyer object to police radar reliability? - June 13, 2016
- Poking Holes: Virginia DUI Test Problems - October 24, 2015